||Clinton County Office of the County Clerk|
Sue Ralston - Records Deputy
|CLERK'S OFFICE HOURS: Monday – Friday 8-5||
Dawn Chapple - DMV Deputy
|Phone (518) 565-4700|
|Fax (518) 565-4718|
PISTOL PERMIT INFORMATION GUIDE
Pick up an application (fee of $15.00) at the Clinton County Clerk’s Office at 137 Margaret St., Plattsburgh, NY. Once completed, the application must be returned to the same location.Can you mail me an application?
Application can be mailed by request, accompanied by a self addressed stamped 9" x 12" envelope and a $15.00 check or money order for the processing fee.What are the requirements?
There are several requirements that must be met vefore an individual will be issued a license to carry or possess a firearm in New York State. See NY Penal Law 400.00(1). Generally, you must be 21 years of age but there are no age restrictions for individuals who have been honorably discharged from one of the branches of the United States Military, including the Coast Guard, or the New York National Guard. You also must "reside" in Clinton County however this entails more than simply owning or renting a home or apartment in the county. You must have a "significant connection" with the county in order to establish a residence here for purposes of obtaining a pistol permit.How much does it cost?
The fee for the application packet includes the price of your license.How long does it take to process?
4 to 6 months barring delay however if there will be a delay you will be advised in writing of the reasons for it.For what purpose can I obtain a pistol license?
There are several different types of licenses available. See Penal Law 400.00(2) Generally, an individual who qualifies may obtain a license to have and possess a pistol or revolver in his or her home or place of business. Individuals in certain lines of work may obtain licenses to carry concealed pistols or revolvers. Any person, without regard to employment, may obtain a license to carry a concealed pistol or revolver for proper cause.Can I qualify for a pistol permit if I’ve been arrested or convicted of a crime before?
Maybe. The only hard and fast rule is that if you have been convicted anywhere of a felony or serious offense you are ineligible for a license to have and possess a firearm in New York State unless you qualify for, and obtain, a Certificate of Relief from Disabilities. However, even a conviction of "lesser" crimes and offenses may disqualify you. The Licensing Officer will condider the nature and number of the crimes or offenses and when they occurred together with all of the other information gleaned from the application process when deciding whether to issue you a license to own and possess a firearm.Must the character references on my application reside in Clinton County?
No but they are preferred and if there is any question about whether you "reside" in Clinton County, the residency of the character references may take on additional weight.For how long is the pistol license valid?
Must I be a citizen of the United States to get a pistol license?
No. But you may not be in the United States illegally or unlawfully.When and where can I be fingerprinted?
The instruction sheet provided with the application contains information regarding fingerprinting and the required fee.When and where can I get my pictures taken?
Pictures can be taken at the Clinton County Clerk’s Office for a fee of $20.00, and must be submitted with your application.What should I do when I move?
You must report a change of address in writing to the State Police, Executive Department in Albany within ten (10) days of the move. You must also report a change of address to the Clinton County Clerk and, if you are moving out of Clinton County, request that your records be transferred to your new county of residence.What should I do if i wish to buy or sell a pistol?
If you buy a gun from or sell a gun to dealer, just bring the receipt to the County Clerk’s Office where the weapon will be added or deleted and a purchase coupon will be provided for that weapon.What if one of my pistols is stolen?
If a pistol is stolen it must be reported to both the police and the Clinton County Clerk’s Office. Please bring a copy of the police report for stolen weapons to the County Clerks’s OfficeCan I co-own a pistol with another person?
Yes, but can only co-own a pistol with immediate family members. Parents, spouses, children, domestic partners and step-children are considered immediate family.